I Have Survived

Survive

IMAGE DESCRIPTION: A yellow flower growing up through dry, cracked sandy-coloured earth.

I have been scarred.
I have been bruised.
I have been bullied.
I have been abused.

I know I’m not the trash they make me feel like.
I know I’m still a full person.
But every day they make that harder for me to believe,
For some unknown reason.

I’ve grown weary from all this fighting.
I fight them off every night as I lie in bed.
And play them over and over like a broken record,
Those cruel words and thoughts which they planted in my head.

I know they do not even realize
What they’ve done to me is wrong.
They do not believe they are flawed,
Which is why I kept silent for so long.

They cling to their image,
They cling to their vanity.
All the while I strive,
Just to cling to my sanity.

They attack me from all sides.
Every day has been a battle.
I have spilt my blood and tears,
So that I do not become their chattel.

At first I yearned for their love and acceptance.
Then I sought only their mild approval.
But I’ve learned they will never grant me any praise at all,
Though that lesson to learn was brutal.

My only hope is to free myself.
Help is never long to stay.
Alone is what I am.
It has always been this way.

But I’m beginning to realize my potential.
I’m beginning to realize my value.
Suddenly I feel just a little bit lighter,
And the world has a slightly brighter hue.

A new day is here.
I made it through last night.
I know I must keep moving forward,
Even though these memories still bite.

I have been scarred.
I have been bruised.
I have been bullied.
I have been abused.

But that will not keep me pinned down forever.
Their abuse I have survived.
I have found my courage and my voice.
And when I’m finally free from them I will surely thrive.

~O.K.

Leave a Comment

